Primary Test Evidence

Rutland have done a huge amount of primary fire testing of door closing devices bi-directionally in the UK.

In order to sell or use a product, manufacturers or suppliers would often need to make sure that it meets certain fire performance criteria. The exact requirements can be complex, with typical issues as follows:

❯  A number of different fire tests are often required

❯  For products that are sold internationally, the fire standards can vary in each country

❯  Requirements can be for fire testing, fire assessments or fire certification and the difference between these are regularly misunderstood

Rutland have therefore consistently committed over 5% of annual revenue on testing and third party certification.

Third-party Product Certification

Third-party Product Certification is designed to give confidence to specifiers, users, occupiers, owners and enforcement bodies that products have been thoroughly and independently evaluated and will continue to be manufactured to the same specification as originally tested.

Rutland UK products undergo two types of certification:

  • Attestation of conformity for CE Marking – a basic level of certification designed to satisfy the minimum requirements for a product to be placed on the European market. Evaluation is against European technical specifications such as harmonized standards and European Technical Approvals.

CE Certificates are downloadable here

  • High level third party certification against IFCC’s rigorous standards International, European, British or Industry standards. Evaluation involves initial type testing, establishment of a comprehensive field of application, auditing of quality management and factory production control procedures, auditing and labelling.

Third party certificates

Download our Certification

Fire Testing BS EN 1634

Our products are Third-Party fire tested BS EN 1634-1:2008. Fire resistance and smoke control tests for door, shutter and, openable window assemblies and elements of building hardware.

Endurance Testing BS EN 1154

Uses a 6 digit coding system. A similar classification applies to all building hardware product standards so that complementary items of hardware can be specified to. Door Closer are endurance tested to 500,000 test cycles to meet this standard.

CE Marking

For this, the unit has to have completed successfully both the EN1154 and EN1634 tests and our factory has to be subjected to an (FPC) Factory Production Control Scheme.

ISO 9001

ISO 9001 is the internationally recognized Quality Management System (QMS) standard that can benefit any size organization. Designed to be a powerful business improvement tool, ISO 9001 Quality Management certification helps us: Continually improve, streamline operations and reduce costs.

Third Party Bodies we work with…

Rutland work with many third party approved test bodies to bring products to the market that you can fully rely on and stand by.  Ensure that your products meet the legislative requirements of the European and global market.

Can’t find the information your looking for?

Email: sales@rutlanduk.co.uk or call 01246 261491